Review: amika Nourishing Mask (Hair)

Posted on

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1a1/45913643/files/2014/12/img_9991.jpg

I love to color my hair and fry it with heat! I totally abuse my hair. I DO! But there are Hair Wizards aka Bad-ass Chemists/Scientists out there concocting potions to repair damage done to beautiful manes, like mine (yeah, I like my hair a little…).

Upon opening the tube, I was overcome by the SUPER STRONG floral-like scent. Personally, I’m not the biggest fan of overly scented hair/skin products, the smell interferes with other products you may use that smell and it just all goes wrong and it’s one big headache.

I proceeded to use the product and was surprised that the nice thick cream was almost balm-like. I used about a half-dollar size (little bigger than a quarter) and spread it all through my hair; waited 10 minutes; rinsed. My hair DID feel softer while rinsing the product and initially combing it after the shower, but it didn’t feel softer when dry or appear smoother.

I used it again at the end of the week with the same results, and had just enough for half a treatment the third time. I experienced the same result, but will not totally count the last use, as it wasn’t a full dose of product.

I felt like the Amika Nourishing Mask is just another overly smelly conditioner that marginally works, but doesn’t deliver true deep conditioning.

At $28, I don’t feel that I would purchase this product or tell a friend to try it.

Leave a comment